Olympia Section

The Olympia Section will be holding planning meetings during the months of June-August 2021. We are looking forward to hosting section meetings again starting in September, with the hopes of meeting in person. Additional details will be forthcoming. Have a great summer!


For additional information contact Brent Olson at bolson@ernwest.com

Olympia Section Executive Board Member Candidates for the 2021 – 2022 year.

Chairperson – Brent Olson, MS, CSP, CIH

Brent has over 15 years in the safety and health field.  He was an Industrial Hygiene Compliance Officer with Labor and Industries before making the move to the private sector in 2016. Brent is now with Employer Resources Northwest as a Regional Safety & Loss Control Manager, working with RETRO Association members to reduce injuries and sustain performance in the workplace. Brent received his Bachelor and Master of Science degrees from Washington State University (GO COUGS!!). Brent is also a Certified Safety Professional (CSP) and Certified Industrial Hygienist (CIH). Brent actively participates in the ASSP Olympia Section.

Vice-Chair – Dominique Damian, MS

Dominique started in safety and health 12 years ago with the Department of Labor and Industries. She began as a safety compliance officer, but switched to industrial hygiene in 2013 as it better aligned with her experience and education. Dominique graduated from The Evergreen State College with a Bachelor’s degree in health science. She is currently working on a Master’s degree in industrial hygiene from Montana Tech. Dominique now works for Washington Farm Bureau as a consultant and trainer. She is the agriculture management representative for the Governor’s Industrial Safety and Health Advisory Board and helps plan the annual conference as well as Ag Safety Days. She looks forward to continuing to contribute to the ASSP Olympia Section.

Treasurer/Secretary –  Scott K. Edwards CSP

Scott is a Safety and Health Specialist with the Washington State Department of Labor and Industries. He is a part of the Risk Management and Internal Safety and Health unit. Scott is a graduate of University of Central Missouri, Warrensburg, MO with a BS in Industrial Safety. While at UCM he joined the student section of ASSP and has been a member since that time. He has held numerous leadership positions within ASSP at the local level including Treasurer, Vice-president, President, and Secretary. He is also a Certified Safety Professional. Scott has worked as an Industrial Health and Safety Specialist with a major aerospace company and as Safety Program Coordinator for a major North American Maritime Port. Scott has a background in manufacturing, safety and health program assessment and risk management. Scott is a Professional Member of the American Society of Safety Professionals, Puget Sound Chapter.

Member-at-Large – Bob Hauk, CSP, ARM

Over the past 50 years Bob has gained extensive insight, knowledge, skills, background and professional experience in safety management and Washington State workers’ compensation and retro management. Bob has a diverse background and has worked with many industry groups including manufacturing, healthcare, insurance, construction, utilities, trucking / warehousing and public entities.  Bob graduated from the University of Cincinnati with a BS in Electrical Engineering. He has attained the distinction as a Certified Safety Professional (CSP) by examination and earned the designation of Associate in Risk Management (ARM).  Bob has been a member of the American Society of Safety Engineers for 40 years and a past president of the Puget Sound Chapter.

Olympia Section Bylaws – Revised 2019